Name Grant Honorees

Name Grants 2022-2023, by Jan Eriksen, Chair

It’s not too early to begin thinking about nominees for the 2021-2022 AAUW La Crosse Branch Name Grant(s). A nominee should have provided service to the branch and cannot have received the honor previously. For a list of past recipients, dating back to 1960, please see the end pages of your membership directory.

Please call or email me [(608)787- 5946;], with your nominee. I will need the name of your candidate, along with information about why you think that she or he is deserving of the award. The deadline for getting nominations to me is March 19.

A small committee of past Name Grant awardees will select the winner(s) for 2021-2022 and a donation will be sent to AAUW national in their honor. Winners will be announced at the April 9 branch meeting.

Name Grants 2021-2022.

The 2020-2021 Name Grant recipients were announced at the April 10 branch meeting. Francie Ball, whose name was proposed by Robert Richardson, was honored based on her work on the Scholarship and Grants Committee. Francie chairs the subcommittee which reviews the large number of applications submitted by University of Wisconsin-La Crosse students. Robert’s letter of nomination indicates, “Because of Francie’s leadership, the subcommittee makes reliable and valid decisions and recommendations.” Francie has also been a major contributor to the Art Fair on the Green Concessions Committee by earning her ServSafe certification to be qualified to assure that food vendors are following La Crosse County Health Department regulations.

Marian Schiesser received her award due to her service as Publicity Chair for the Art Fair on the Green since 2014. In that capacity she negotiated a contract with the billboard company that gave the Art Fair free advertising on the new electronic boards, she arranged for articles in area-wide newspapers and magazines, and she placed AAUW La Crosse members as guests on radio shows. Marion also worked with Explore La Crosse for a raffle giveaway that included a free hotel stay and local restaurant meals, further increasing the Art Fair’s visibility. She ordered yard signs with dates that could easily be changed, so that the signs could be used from year-to-year. Marian was nominated by Erica Koonmen and Carol Robertson.

Name Grants are an AAUW La Crosse tradition since 1960. Members who provide exceptional service to the branch are nominated and honored each year, chosen by a committee of past honorees, and money is sent in their names to AAUW national’s Greatest Needs Fund. Thank you to everyone who nominated members this year and to Betty Kruck and Mary Hall who served on the selection committee